New Class of Disney Legends Honored at D23 Expo

The 2017 class of Disney Legends was honored this morning at the D23 Expo in Anaheim, California. The ceremony was hosted by Disney Chairman and CEO Bob Iger. This year marks the 30th anniversary of the Disney Legends Award. The first recipient was Fred MacMurray in 1987.

Disney Legends honored at D23 ExpoDisney Legends honored at D23 Expo

The Disney Legends Award is the highest honor bestowed by Disney and is "reserved for those few who have truly made an indelible mark on the history of The Walt Disney Company," said Iger.

This year's recipients are: Carrie Fisher, actress/writer/director/screenwriter/all-around legend; Clyde "Gerry" Geronimi, animator and director with Disney Studios; Manuel Gonzales, artist; Mark Hamill, Luke Skywalker himself; Wayne Jackson, Disney Imagineer; Jack Kirby, co-creator of Captain America; Stan Lee, everything that is Marvel; Garry Marshall, director; Julie Taymor, filmmaker and Tony Award winner (The Lion King on Broadway); and Oprah Winfrey award-winning producer, actress, talk show host, and philanthropist.

And in a surprise announcement, Whoopi Goldberg, Academy Award-winning actress and the host of The View, was named a Disney Legend Award recipient this morning just before the ceremony!

Did you have a chance to watch today's ceremony? We'd love to hear your thoughts on this year's Disney Legends. Leave us a comment.


Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly. If you have a Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address you provide, it will be used to display your avatar.

More information about formatting options